Who We Are


The mission of this not-for-profit committee shall be to give assistance to the AAM and its regional associations in their objectives of sound professional preparation and promotion of high standards and, specifically, shall endeavor to increase professionalism among museum registrars through educational programs and publications, establish standards of professional practice, and create an atmosphere of understanding and respect, of communication and cooperation among registrars, between registrars and other museum professionals, and between registrars and individuals in related service fields. (1977)

Mission Statement


Leadership

REGIONAL CHAIRS

Mid-Atlantic Chair
Jobi Zink
Registrar
The Rosenbach Museum & Library
jzink@rosenbach.org

Midwest Chair
Andrew Near
Collections Manager
Kruizenga Art Museum
Hope College
near@hope.edu

Mountain-Plains Chair
Susie Fishman-Armstrong
Collections Manager, Archaeology Division
Sam Noble Museum
University of Oklahoma
sfishman@ou.edu

New England Co-Chair
James Sousa
Associate Registrar for Collections & Archives
Addison Gallery of American Art
Phillips Academy
jsousa@andover.edu

New England Co-Chair
Meredith Vasta
Collections Steward
Peabody Museum of Archaeology & Ethnology at Harvard University
mvasta@fas.harvard.edu

Southeastern Chair
Deborah Rose Van Horn
Registrar
Kentucky Historical Society
Thomas D. Clark Center for Kentucky History
deborah.vanhorn@ky.gov

Western Chair
Clare Haggarty
Civic Art Collections Manager
Los Angeles County Arts Commission
MHaggarty@arts.lacounty.gov

National Officers

Chair
John Simmons
Museologica
128 E Burnside St
Bellefonte, PA 16823
simmons.johne@gmail.com

Immediate Past Chair
Suzanne Hale
Registrar/Collections Manager
Gregory Allicar Museum of Art (formerly the University Art Museum)
Colorado State University
Suzanne.Hale@colostate.edu

Chair-Elect:
Sebastian Encina
Collections Manager
Kelsey Museum of Archaeology
University of Michigan
sencina@umich.edu

Secretary:
Amy Heggemeyer
Assistant Registrar
Spurlock Museum
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
heggemey@illinois.edu

Secretary-Elect: 
Lindsay Palaima
Exhibits Registrar
California Academy of Sciences
lpalaima@calacademy.org


Committees

In order to conduct the business and to further the goals of the Registrars Committee, several Standing Committees have been formed.  In addition, Task Forces are formed to address timely topics.

Reinforcement Crew Co-Chair
Libby Krecek
Registrar
krecek1@gmail.com

Reinforcement Crew Co-Chair
Nicole Paterson
Collections Management Consultant
nicolelpaterson@gmail.com


PROFESSIONAL PRACTICES

Code of Ethics Revision Chair
Lauren Silverson
Associate Registrar
Portland Museum of Art
lsilverson@portlandmuseum.org

Museum Studies Liaison
Dixie Neilson
Independent Registrar
dixieneilson@yahoo.com

Rights & Reproductions Chair :

John ffrench
Director of Visual Resources
Yale University Art Gallery
john.ffrench@yale.edu

Communications

Listserv Owner:
Mignon Erixon-Stanford
Internet Coordinator
Smithsonian Institution
erixonm@si.edu

Web Chair :
Mell Scalzi
Independent Registrar/Collections Manager
New York and Southern New England
mell.scalzi@gmail.com



 

MEMBER SERVICES

Archivist
Chelsea Hick
Assistant Collections Manager
Historical Resource Center
Bureau of Engraving and Printing
chelseahick@gmail.com

Development Officer

Suzanne Hale
Registrar/Collections Manager
Gregory Allicar Museum of Art (formerly the University Art Museum)
Colorado State University
Suzanne.Hale@colostate.edu

Documentary Photographer
Jason Smith
Contract Photographer
Paul E. Garber Facility
jas1225@nyu.edu

Fellowship Chair
Zinnia Willits
Director of Collections Administration
Gibbes Museum of Art
zwillits@gibbesmuseum.org

Host City Coordinator 2017
Danielle DiGiacomo
Registrar
Cardinals Hall of Fame and Museum
St. Louis Cardinals, LLC

Marketplace of Ideas Co-Chair 2017
Shay Henrion
Collections Manager, Soldiers Memorial
Missouri Historical Society
shenrion@mohistory.org

Marketplace of Ideas Co-Chair 2017
Hannah Streicher
Cataloger/Assoc. Historian
Soldiers Memorial Project
hstreicher@mohistory.org

Mentor Program Chair
Sebastian Encina
Collections Manager
Kelsey Museum of Archaeology
University of Michigan
sencina@umich.edu


LEXICON TASK FORCE

Statement of Purpose
To identify the issues around accessibility to anthropological collections that are based in the collections management lexicons.  To create a solution that will aid collections management professionals in sharing their data and increasing access to their collections.

History
The origins of this Task Force can be found in the archives of the RCAAM listserv when a question about classification terms for anthropology collections led to a conversation of thesauri development.  There was a general recognition that, lacking a standard list for ethnographic materials and cultural names, many museums develop their own independent thesauri, which can be counterproductive to the larger museum goals of improved data sharing. The discussion continued beyond the initial listserv posting and it was decided to launch a collaborative effort to develop a set of standardized terms for ethnographic collections. This led to the creation of the AAM Session “Developing an Ethnographic Lexicon,” which was presented at the 2015 Annual Meeting in order to raise this topic within the community at large.

Survey
A survey was developed in conjunction with the AAM session in order to gather information on general museum practices regarding standardized ethnographic terminology. The information includes:

  •  museum size and governance
  • distribution of ethnographic and archaeological materials
  • type of database
  • type of terminology (internally developed vs. an established thesaurus or lexicon)

The survey is now closed, thank you for your response!
 

Lexicon Task Force


Chair:
Amy Heggemeyer
Spurlock Museum,
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
heggemey@illinois.edu

Members
Stephanie Allen
Sam Noble Museum, University of Oklahoma
stephanie.allen@ou.edu

Charlie Iverson
Science Museum of Minnesota
civerson@smm.org

Nicolette Meister
Logan Museum of Anthropology, Beloit College
meistern@beloit.edu

Ann Stevenson
Museum of Anthropology, University of British Columbia
ann.stevenson@ubc.ca

Richard Urban
College of Communication and Information School of Information, Florida State University
rurban@fsu.edu

The Lexicon Task Force is in its early stages and encourages the participation of additional individuals from museums and relevant communities.  Please contact chairperson Amy Heggemeyer with any questions or if you are interested in being involved.